Text 'FAMU' To 50555
FAMU Women Win MEAC Outdoor; Men Finish Fourth
By: Florida A&M Sports Information  

FAMU Women Win MEAC Outdoor; Men Get 4th

GREENSBORO, N.C., May 5, 2018—A strong Thursday and Friday, and a late push on Saturday, propelled Florida A&M to the 2018 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Outdoor Track & Field championship by the slimmest of margins at the Irwin Belk Track.  

The Lady Rattlers tallied 179.5 points, winning its third title in four years and its 12th overall, edging out the host team Aggies by half a point, as A&T finished with 179.0 points..  

FAMU’s Dr. Darlene Moore was named the meet’s Outstanding Coach, and the Lady Rattlers’ Taylor Gorum was named the Outstanding Field Performer.   The Lady Rattlers came into the day with a sizeable lead 113.5 to 51.5 over Bethune-Cookman after Friday’s  standout performances in the field events and distance races, scoring 105.5 points i9n the field events alone.

But the defending champion Aggies, who stood fourth after Friday’s session with 35 points, continued their recent trend in the final day of competition, scoring 144 points on Saturday, briefly overtaking FAMU after the 200-meter dash.  

But FAMU answered immediately in the 5,000-meter run to take an insurmountable lead, 179.5 to 169 heading into the 4x400-meter relay, as the trio of Emmax Kiplagat (3rd, 17:50.78), Nancy Murgor (4th, 18:15.48) and Naomi Tanui (7th, 19:08.59) combined for 13 points.   The Aggies’ 4x100-meter relay squad ran a 44.38 to take gold in the final event, but it was not enough to overhaul FAMU.

FAMU’s Taylor Gorum was clutch in the field scoring 23 points, winning the discus (51.69), placing second in the shot put (14.42 meters), and fourth in the hammer throw (46.87 meters).

Brittany Corbett of Florida A&M won the javelin throw with a distance of 144 feet, three inches (43.96 meters).   Rounding out the top five in the team standings were Bethune-Cookman in third with 120.5 points, Hampton with 119 and Norfolk State with 68.    

ALL MEAC TRACK FIRST TEAM Kayla White, NCAT (100m, 200m, 100h, 4x100), Asia Joe, B-CU (400m), Martha Bissah, NSU (800m, 1,500m), Lea Tshikaya ,B-CU (400h), Tori Ray, NCAT (4x100, 4x400), India Brown, NCAT (4x100), Jadzia Beasley, NCAT (4x100), Sun-Sara Williams, NCAT (4x400), Payton Russell, NCAT (4x400), Nia Lundy, NCAT (4x400), Nancy Murgor, FAMU (Steeple), Faith Keitany, HAM (5,000m), Janet Okeago, HAM (10,000m), Quamecha Morrison, B-CU (HJ), Morgan Knight, NCAT (Pole), Monae’ Nichols, B-CU (LJ), Anisa Toppin, NCAT (TJ), Taylor Gorum, FAMU (Discus), Loren James, NCAT (Shot), Onnika Scott, FAMU (Hammer), Brittany Corbett, FAMU (Javelin), Ed’Quisha Alvin, FAMU (Hept)  

ALL MEAC TRACK SECOND TEAM Bethany White, NCCU (100m, 200m), Annastacia Barham, MSU (400m, 4x400), Madeleine Akobundu, NCAT (100h), Kristoni Barnes, NCAT (800m), Eusila Chepkemei, HAM (1,500m), Autumn Smith, HAM (400h), Quamecha Morrison, B-CU (4x100), Sade Tardiel-McCreath, B-CU (4x100), Jonina Brinson, B-CU (4x100), Monae’ Nichols, B-CU (4x100), Valencia McDowell, MSU (4x400), Infinnatie Rowe, MSU (4x400), Brittany Meads, MSU (4x400), Camille Martin, NCAT (Steeple), Janet Okeago, HAM (5,000m), Emmax Kiplagat, FAMU (10,000m), Nazah Reddick, NCAT (HJ), Jazmyn Dennis, FAMU (Pole), Madeleine Akobundu, NCAT (LJ), Bhrandi Crenshaw, NCCU (TJ), Corneisha Mitchell, HAM (Discus), Taylor Gorum, FAMU (Shot), Imani Abraham, NCAT (Hammer), Kayla Key, HAM (Javelin), Faleesha Dowe, DSU (Hept)  

ALL MEAC TRACK THIRD TEAM India Brown, NCAT (100m, 200m), Nia Bundy, NCAT (400m), TeJyrica Robinson, NCAT (100h), G’Jasmyne Butler, NCAT (800m), Candice Higgins, NSU (1,500m), Uchechi Onuoha, HOW (400h), Taejah Robertson, NSU (4x100), Tyrika Lee, NSU (4x100), T’nai Wells, NSU (4x100), Kiara Grant, NSU (4x100), Asia Joe, B-CU (4x400), Lea Tshikaya, B-CU (4x400), Tatyana Hodnett, B-CU (4x400), Monae’ Nichols, B-CU (4x400), Pollyanna Velasco, HAM (Steeple), Emmax Kiplagat, FAMU (5,000m), Nancy Murgor, FAMU (10,000m), Ed’Quisha Alvin, FAMU (HJ), Cheyenne Brooks, FAMU (Pole), Dominique Cleggett, HOW (LJ), Tiara Corbett, FAMU (TJ), Jasmyn Hall, MSU (Discus), Kiyanna Thomas, HAM (Shot), Akassja White, B-CU (Hammer), Kyra Hayes, HAM (Javelin), Kaitlin Scott, HAM (Hept)

Rattler Men Finish Fourth In MEAC Outdoors

GREENSBORO, N.C. (May 5) – The FAMU Men’s Track team placed fourth at the 2018 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Irwin Belk Track, continuing a trend of steady improvement in their first year back from NCAA academic probation.

The host North Carolina A&T Aggies won their second straight title and fifth overall. They tallied 153 points to Bethune-Cookman’s 150.

Rounding out the top five in the team standings were Hampton in third with 131 points, Florida A&M in fourth with 65 points and Morgan State fifth with 60.

 As a result of Saturday’s win, the Aggies become the first back-to-back men's champions since Bethune-Cookman's three consecutive titles from 2014-16. N.C. A&T State’s second straight MEAC title marks it first back-to-back crowns since winning three straight titles from 1994 to 1996.

Standouts for the FAMU Men, which capped off a solid return year in 2017-18 with a trio of top five finishes in MEAC Championship competition: fourth in Cross Country and Outdoor Track, and fifth in Indoor Track, included Connor McMillan, FAMU (Pole Vault), Onesmus Kemboi, FAMU (5,000m), Festus Kemboi, FAMU (10,000m), David Too, FAMU (Steeple), and Aaron Hanna, FAMU (Shot).


ALL MEAC TRACK FIRST TEAM Joseph Amoah, CSU (100m), Rodney Rowe, NCAT (200m, 4x100), Tyrell Richard, SCSU (400m), Michael Dickson, NCAT (110h, 4x100, 4x400), Jaelen Williams, HAM (400h), Michael Bell, NCAT (4x100), Joel Thomas, NCAT (4x100), Justin Hamilton, NCAT (4x400), Trevor Stewart, NCAT (4x400), Dajuan Harding, NCAT (4x400), Jonathan Moore, B-CU (800m), Wesley Kirui, HAM (1,500m, 5,000m, 10,000m, Steeple), Jacob Milton, NSU (HJ), Dominic Harper, B-CU (Pole), Lloyd Hylton, MSU (LJ), Malik Franklin, SSU (TJ), Robert Duncan, DSU (Discus),Jeremiah Peters, B-CU (Shot), Derrick Wheeler, NCAT (Hammer), Judah Corriette, MDES (Javelin), Jerrick Powell, HAM (Dec)  

ALL MEAC TRACK SECOND TEAM Rodney Rowe, NCAT (100m), Tyrell Richard, SCSU (200m), Trevor Stewart, NCAT (400m), Aaron Lewis, CSU (110h), Jaylen Banks, NSU (400h), Abbkar Abbas, SSU (800m), Emmanuel Too, HAM (1,500m), Kareem Fair, B-CU (4x100), Henrick Bailey, B-CU (4x100), Jordan Williams, B-CU (4x100, 4x400), Randy Green, B-CU (4x100), Jonathan Moore, B-CU (4x400), Christopher Jackson, B-CU (4x400), Caleb Okwaraji, B-CU (4x400), David Too, FAMU (5,000m), Anteneh Girma, NSU (10,000m), Oussama Chouati, MDES (Steeple), Garth Warner, NSU (HJ), Connor McMillan, FAMU (Pole), Daniel Seawright, SCSU (LJ), Lasheon Strozier, NCAT (TJ), Kurt Goodlitt, MSU (Discus), Aaron Wilkerson, NCAT (Shot), Sidney Holston, B-CU (Hammer), Kurt Goodlitt, MSU (Javelin), JaQuaveon Beachem, B-CU (Dec)  

ALL MEAC TRACK THIRD TEAM Demek Kemp, SCSU (100m), Joseph Amoah, CSU (200m, 4x100), Jordan Williams, B-CU (400m), Robert Miller, NCAT (110h), Stanley Davis, HAM (400h), Christopher Jackson, B-CU (800m), Oussama Chouati, MDES (1,500m), Keshaun Hodges, CSU (4x100), Aaron Lewis, CSU (4x100), Devin Teagle, CSU (4x100),  Beatty, HAM (4x400), Jaelen Williams, HAM (4x400), Brenan Garrett, HAM (4x400), Tayvon Burris, HAM (4x400), Onesmus Kemboi, FAMU (5,000m), Festus Kemboi, FAMU (10,000m), David Too, FAMU (Steeple), Kelton Williams, B-CU (HJ), Adam Funkhouser, DSU (Pole), JaiQuan Earls, B-CU (LJ), Joel Sampson, B-CU (TJ), Jeremiah Peters, B-CU (Discus, Hammer), Aaron Hanna, FAMU (Shot), Aarn Lee, DSU (Javelin), Desmond Lindsey, HAM (Dec)



Former Athlete or Alumni?
Show Your Rattler Pride