Text 'FAMU' To 50555
All-American Chase Varnadore is on the CFPA watch list
All-American Chase Varnadore is on the CFPA watch list
View larger
Courtesy: Florida A&M Sports Information
Chase Varnadore Makes 2013 CFPA Watch List
By: Florida A&M Sports Information  
CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Placekicker Award, and Chase Varnadore earned a spot on the list. The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual placekicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.
"Congratulations to Chase Varnadore on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Varnadore is a talented placekicker who will be one of the top special teams players to watch in the MEAC in 2013."
Previously, FAMU quarterback Damien Fleming earned a spot on the 2013 CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List.
All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.
More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL placekickers include: Alex Henery (Nebraska), Blair Walsh (Georgia), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), David Buehler (USC), Brandon McManus (Temple), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Zach Brown (Portland State), Patrick Murray (Fordham), and Adi Kunalic (Nebraska).
Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website (http://www.collegefootballperformance.com). Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

Kia - Get To Know Us



Former Athlete or Alumni?
Show Your Rattler Pride